Whey protein is a solved problem wearing a confusing label. Every tub promises muscle; what differs is how much of the scoop is actually protein, how the whey was filtered, what sweetens it, and who tested it. Those four lines on the label decide which tub belongs on your counter.
This lineup covers fifteen current powders across the whole spread - budget concentrates, grass-fed isolates, hydrolyzed speed mixes and three-ingredient purist tubs. Every number quoted below comes from the product's label or listing, and where a label counts differently, the difference is flagged. Each entry notes the whey form, the label's protein figure and any third-party certification, so the cards can be skimmed against the table without re-reading marketing copy.
Dymatize ISO100
The hydrolyzed isolate: the protein is pre-broken into smaller peptides, and that pre-breaking is what gives this powder its fast, easy mixing. 25 g of protein per scoop of Gourmet Chocolate, in a five-pound tub for the daily-shake routine.
- Hydrolyzed whey isolate
- 25 g protein per scoop per label
- Gourmet Chocolate, 5 lb
Isopure Zero Carb
The carb-counter's isolate: 25 g of whey isolate protein with zero carbohydrate per serving, per the label, in a Creamy Vanilla that disappears into oatmeal and coffee as easily as a shaker.
- 0 g carbs per label
- 25 g isolate protein per serving
- Creamy Vanilla, 3 lb
Body Fortress Super Advanced Whey
The budget tub: a whey concentrate blend that adds vitamin C, vitamin D and zinc, per the label. Read the scoop math before comparing numbers - the label's 60 g protein figure is a two-scoop serving.
- Whey concentrate blend
- Vitamins C, D and zinc added per label
- Chocolate, 1.78 lb
Sports Research Whey Protein Isolate
An isolate-only bag: 25 g protein and 6.9 g total BCAAs per scoop, a figure that already includes the 1 g of added free L-leucine, per the label's own footnote. Certified under LGC's Informed program - the registry moved this product from Informed Sport to Informed Choice for batches tested after March 2025.
- 25 g protein, under 1 g sugar per scoop
- 6.9 g total BCAAs including added leucine
- Informed Choice certified per registry
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey
The three-way blend: isolate, concentrate and peptides together for 24 g of protein per scoop, instantized so it stirs with a spoon, and banned-substance tested per the listing. Double Rich Chocolate in a 2 lb tub.
- 24 g protein per scoop per label
- Isolate + concentrate + peptides
- Instantized for easy mixing
Side by Side
| Powder | Whey Form | Protein per Label Serving | Certification per Listing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dymatize ISO100 | Hydrolyzed isolate | 25 g | Not stated |
| Isopure Zero Carb | Whey isolate | 25 g | Not stated |
| Body Fortress | Concentrate blend | 60 g (two scoops) | Not stated |
| Sports Research WPI | Whey isolate | 25 g | Informed Choice, per registry |
| ON Gold Standard | Isolate/concentrate/peptides | 24 g | Banned-substance tested |
| Levels Whey | Grass-fed concentrate | 24 g | Not stated |
| Transparent Labs WPI | Grass-fed isolate | 28 g | NSF Certified for Sport, per registry |
| Nutricost Whey | Concentrate | 25 g | Not stated |
| Legion Whey+ | Grass-fed isolate | 22 g | Not stated |
| Ascent 100% Whey | Native whey blend | 25 g | Informed Sport, per brand |
| Ghost Whey | Isolate/concentrate blend | 25 g | Not stated |
| Premier Protein | Whey, form not stated | 30 g | Not stated |
| Naked Whey | Grass-fed concentrate | 25 g | Informed Choice, per registry |
| MuscleTech NT Whey Gold | Isolate/peptide blend | 24 g | Not stated |
| Garden of Life SPORT | Grass-fed whey isolate | 24 g | NSF Certified for Sport, per listing |
Levels Whey, Double Chocolate
The grass-fed concentrate: 24 g protein and 5.4 g BCAAs per scoop, flavored with cacao and sweetened with monk fruit, no added sugar per the listing. A five-pound tub at 71 servings for the long haul.
- 24 g protein, 5.4 g BCAAs per label
- Grass-fed concentrate per brand
- Monk fruit sweetened, no added sugar
Transparent Labs Grass-Fed Whey Isolate
The transparency pick: 28 g protein from grass-fed whey isolate per scoop, sweetened with stevia, every ingredient listed by weight per the brand, and NSF Certified for Sport. Milk Chocolate keeps the formula short.
- 28 g protein per scoop per label
- NSF Certified for Sport
- Stevia-sweetened, no artificial sweeteners
Nutricost Whey Protein Concentrate
The value concentrate: 25 g protein from undenatured whey concentrate per scoop, non-GMO and gluten-free per the listing, with 63 servings of Milk Chocolate in the five-pound tub.
- 25 g protein per scoop per label
- 63 servings per 5 lb
- Non-GMO and gluten-free per listing
Legion Whey+
The naturally sweetened isolate: 22 g protein per scoop from grass-fed whey isolate per the label, no artificial sweeteners or dyes per the brand, in Dutch Chocolate, for the label reader who wants isolate purity without sucralose.
- 22 g protein per scoop per label
- Grass-fed whey isolate
- Naturally sweetened per brand
Ascent 100% Whey
The native-whey blend: 25 g protein per scoop per the label, native whey isolate alongside standard isolate and concentrate, with 5.5 g BCAAs and 2.6 g leucine per scoop per the listing, stevia-sweetened Chocolate in a 2 lb tub.
- Native whey + isolate + concentrate
- 5.5 g BCAAs, 2.6 g leucine per label
- Stevia-sweetened
Ghost Whey, Cereal Milk
The flavor play: 25 g protein per scoop from an isolate-and-concentrate blend per the label, soy- and gluten-free per the listing, in Cereal Milk - the pick when taste decides whether the habit sticks.
- 25 g protein per scoop per label
- Isolate + concentrate blend
- Cereal Milk flavor
Premier Protein Powder
The 30-gram serving: 100% whey at 30 g of protein per serving per the label, in a compact 17-serving Chocolate Milkshake tub that suits smaller kitchens and lighter rotation.
- 30 g protein per serving per label
- 100% whey
- 17 servings
Naked Whey Chocolate
Three ingredients, per the listing: grass-fed whey concentrate, organic chocolate and organic coconut sugar, certified under Informed Choice per LGC's registry, with no soy, gluten or GMOs per the listing.
- 3 ingredients per listing
- Grass-fed whey concentrate
- Informed Choice certified per registry
MuscleTech Nitro-Tech Whey Gold
The peptide blend: 24 g of protein from whey isolate and peptides per scoop, with 5.5 g BCAAs plus 4 g of glutamine and precursor per the label, cold microfiltered per the listing.
- 24 g protein per scoop per label
- 5.5 g BCAAs per label
- Double Rich Chocolate, 2 lb
Garden of Life SPORT Whey
The athlete-positioned tub: 24 g protein per scoop from grass-fed whey isolate per the label, with probiotics and 4 g glutamine, Chocolate under the brand's SPORT line, 20 servings.
- 24 g protein per scoop per label
- Whey isolate + probiotics + glutamine
- NSF Certified for Sport per listing
Three Shakers, Three Starting Points

For the post-workout window where mixing speed matters, start with a hydrolyzed isolate. Dymatize ISO100 is built exactly for that job, and any of the straight isolates - Isopure, Sports Research, Transparent Labs, Legion - cover it with a cleaner label. Ascent's native-whey blend sits one step behind on processing and one step ahead on label length.
For the label reader, Transparent Labs lists every ingredient by weight and carries NSF Certified for Sport, while Naked Whey strips the formula to three ingredients. Sports Research splits the difference and its certification status is verifiable in the Informed program registry, current batches listed under Informed Choice. Garden of Life's SPORT tub belongs in this conversation too, aimed squarely at the certified-supplement shelf.
For cost per shake, the concentrates win on math alone: Nutricost's five-pound tub stretches to 63 servings, and Body Fortress adds vitamins on top. Concentrate carries a little more lactose and fat per scoop, which most shakes never notice. ON Gold Standard threads the needle with a blend that keeps concentrate pricing while adding isolate and peptides.
Concentrate, Isolate, Hydrolysate and the Label Math

Whey concentrate is the least filtered form: it keeps more of the natural fats, carbs and lactose, which is why it is cheaper per pound and often tastes rounder. Isolate filters further, pushing protein per scoop up and carbs and lactose down - the reason Isopure can print zero carb on the label. Hydrolysate, like ISO100, goes one step further by pre-breaking the protein chains, a processing step aimed at digestion speed and mixing behavior. None of the three is universally better; they trade cost, lactose load and texture against each other.
Scoop math is where comparisons go wrong. Labels state protein per serving, but a serving is whatever the brand says it is. Body Fortress prints 60 g of protein - for a two-scoop serving. Premier prints 30 g in one. Compare grams of protein per 100 g of powder, or at least per scoop, before ranking any two tubs. Serving sizes in this lineup range from Premier's single 30-gram-protein scoop to Body Fortress's two-scoop label, and the tubs' stated serving counts follow from that choice.
The amino-acid lines deserve the same care. Sports Research lists 6.9 g of total BCAAs per scoop, and the label's own footnote says that figure already includes its 1 g of added free L-leucine. Reading BCAA and leucine numbers as separate, stacked amounts double-counts the leucine - a mistake on plenty of product pages. The same discipline applies to BCAA numbers everywhere: the total usually subsumes the leucine, isoleucine and valine lines beneath it.
Sweeteners split the lineup into camps. Sucralose and acesulfame potassium dominate the big legacy tubs; stevia and monk fruit carry the natural-positioned powders like Levels, Ascent, Legion and Transparent Labs; Naked Whey uses coconut sugar and accepts the extra grams. None of these is a health claim - it is a taste and label-preference decision. If artificial sweeteners bother you, that line alone will cut this list in half before any other criterion does.
Certifications are the one claim you can verify independently. NSF Certified for Sport and LGC's Informed program both test batches for banned substances and publish registries: Transparent Labs appears in the NSF Sport registry, and the Informed registry shows Sports Research's whey moved from Informed Sport to Informed Choice for batches tested after March 2025. The registry entry, not the tub artwork, is the current truth.
Finally, flavor is adherence. Ghost leans on dessert flavors because the best powder is the one you actually finish. If a clean-label isolate tastes like homework to you, a concentrate you enjoy beats an isolate you abandon. Most tubs here come in several flavors, so once the form and sweetener are settled, sampling flavors costs little and decides everything.
Pick the form first - concentrate for value, isolate for macros, hydrolysate for mixing speed - then let sweetener, certification and flavor break the tie. Every tub here delivers whey; the label decides which one delivers it your way. Check the certification registry if sport testing matters to you, do the scoop math before comparing tubs, and let flavor make the final call.
The responses below are not provided, commissioned, reviewed, approved, or otherwise endorsed by any financial entity or advertiser. It is not the advertiser’s responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.